University of Glasgow

  • Glasgow

Place Category: TraditionalPlace Tags: AACSB, AMBA, astronomy, Big City, Business, business school, civil service, dentistry, divinity, economics, engineering, EQUIS, law, MBA, Medical School, Medicine, naval architecture, Nobel Prize Winners, observatory, Prime Ministers, science, STEM, teaching, triple accreditation, and veterinary science

  • Profile

    The University of Glasgow is an ancient Scottish university founded in 1451 (making it the fourth-oldest university in the English-speaking world). It is a highly regarded research-intensive university and a member of the prestigious Russell Group of research intensive universities.

    It has a main campus in the west end of Glasgow along with various other buildings dotted around Glasgow and the nearby area. Its gothic-style architecture mixes with newer concrete buildings built to accommodate the University’s expansion over the years.  In the 1700s the University established the Macfarlane Observatory as well as Scotland’s first public museum, the Hunterian Museum.

    The University’s notable alumni include inventor and engineer James Watt, economist Adam Smith and pioneering surgeon Joseph Lister. It can boast seven Nobel Prize Winners and has also graduated three British Prime Minsters!


  • Photos
  • Video

  • Map

    No Records Found

    Sorry, no records were found. Please adjust your search criteria and try again.

    Google Map Not Loaded

    Sorry, unable to load Google Maps API.

  • Comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.